Pet Adoption Events in Chesterton, IN

Here at Lake Shore Ford, we are honored to sponsor a cage at Lakeshore Paws in Valparaiso, IN.  By sponsoring a cage, we are making sure that these dogs have a safe, temporary home until they find their fur-ever home.

Each sponsored dog can be found right here and on our Lake Shore Ford Facebook page. We also occasionally host adoption events at our dealership, so you can find all dates and information on that here as well.

If you want to see all the dogs available for adoption and to learn more on how you can volunteer at Lakeshore Paws, you can check out their website.
 🐾MEET BARNEY🐾

Hi there, my name is Barney and I'm a bouncy 11 year old Wire Hair Fox Terrier. Don't let my age fool you, I am so happy, playful, and full of energy! I would prefer that kids in the home are 6+ because I'm a small guy I do like to jump and play a lot. I'm working on some manners. I weigh about 11 pounds. I'm looking for an active home where I can spend the rest of my life. I'm pretty clever so hopefully my new family is ready for me to keep them on their toes! Do you have any squeak toys at your house? They're really fun to play with. I can't wait to play with them in my own home. The staff promised that I wouldn't have to wait too long for my new family to come. I hope they're right!

Love, Barney ❤️

Have questions about me? Message our Facebook page, email the staff at info@lakeshorepaws.org or call the adoption center at 219-476-7297.

Interested in meeting me? Come into the adoption center and fill out an application at 4611 Evans Ave in Valparaiso.
 🐾MEET MILLER🐾

Hi, my name is Miller and I'm a handsome 8 year old Yorkie Mix! Are you looking for your new best friend? That could be me. I'm might be a little shy at first, but I'll warm right up to you. I enjoy being around other friendly and respectful dogs. When it comes to kids, I'd prefer they are 12+ because I can easily be overwhelmed. I'm trying to adjust to my new environment, but hopefully I don't have to stay here too long. There are a lot of dogs here and it can be pretty loud. The staff tells me that they think I will find a home pretty quick. We can go for walks and then nap on the couch when we're done. I've only been here for a couple of days, but I've seen a lot of my fur friends find their forever homes. I can't wait until it's my turn!

Love, Miller ❤️

Have questions about me? Message the staff on Facebook, email the staff at info@lakeshorepaws.org or call the adoption center at 219-476-7297

Interested in meeting me? Come to the adoption center and fill out an application at 4611 Evans Ave in Valparaiso!
 🐾MEET TOLAN🐾

Hi, my name is Tolan and I'm a lovable 7 year old Chihuahua Mix. I'm a calm guy who is looking for a calm home. I don't mind other friendly dogs or friendly kids. A guy like me shouldn't be in a shelter. Don't you think I deserve a home with lots of attention and love? Don't get me wrong, every one here is very nice, but I want my own family. We can go for walks, car rides, you name it! I'll be your best friend! I can't wait to meet you. Come see me! I'll be waiting!

Love, Tolan ❤️

Have questions about me? Message our page, call the adoption center at 219-476-7297, or email the staff at info@lakeshorepaws.org
 

🐾MEET CLARENCE🐾

Hi! My name is Clarence and I'm a 3 year old Cattle Dog Mix! I am looking for a forever home with breed experience. It is as must! I don't mind respectful dogs, but would prefer that children are 10+. 

Do you have a big yard for me to run around in? That sounds like the perfect thing for me! I'm looking for a family to give me a lot of attention and exercise! I also love belly rubs, can't you tell by my picture?! 

I'm just the cutest! You should come in to meet me. I'm ready to find a home to call my own! See you soon!

Love, Clarence ❤️

Have questions about me? Contact Lakeshore PAWS at 219.476.PAWS (7297) or info@lakeshorePAWS.org.



 🐾MEET APHRODITE🐾

Hi, my name is Aphrodite and I'm an 8 year old Great Pyrenees. I was previously at a boarding facility, but my family never came back to pick me up because they couldn't care for me. I'm looking for a new home to live out the best years of my life. I'm so sweet. When we go for walks I love rolling around in the grass. I'll even lay on my side for a little bit while you rub my belly. We can do that all day if you'd like. It's fine by me! Sometimes too you get to see my playful side where I run and pounce around. I look pretty majestic! You should come meet me. I'm ready for a home to call my own.

Love, Aphrodite ❤️

Have questions about me? Contact Lakeshore PAWS at 219.476.PAWS (7297) or info@lakeshorePAWS.org.

If you want to meet me, come in and fill out an application at the adoption center at 4611 Evans Ave. in Valparaiso.

**Please make sure you do research on the breed if you are not familiar with them.**

Hi guys, my name is Tanner and I'm a 3-year-old male American Pit Bull mix. 

I'm a pretty big guy, so I'd like my new family to have experience with larger dogs. I might be big, but really I'm just a big lover! I love having fun and might be too much for kids. Do you like running, going to the beach, or hiking? I love adventures! I would love it if my new home had family members that were active so I can burn off my energy and then snuggle up to you for a nap! I wouldn't mind having a fur brother or sister as long as they are friendly and playful! 

Have questions about me? Contact Lakeshore PAWS at 219.476.PAWS (7297) or info@lakeshorePAWS.org.
 They call me Spoticus! I'm so much fun! My friends here say I'm pretty darn adorable! I'm a 3 year old Pit Mix! I am a goofy guy and love interacting with every one. I have a lot of energy so I might be too much for other dogs, but maybe in the future with some training! I weigh about 52 pounds so I'm a little too much for human siblings unless they're 12 or older!

Can you give me the forever home I've been waiting for? I dream about it all the time. I'll see you soon!

Have questions about me? Contact Lakeshore PAWS at 219.476.PAWS (7297) or info@lakeshorePAWS.org.

 

Hello! My name is Punky (Female) and this is my brother (and best friend!) Boo (male).


We are a bonded pair of seniors that would love to find a home together if it all possible.  We have gone through a lot together and would like the opportunity to continue to be the tag team duo we have always been.


You see, we wound up in the shelter system because we lost our owner. He was such a nice, loving, and caring man. We really do miss him...he left us behind with this wife. She loved us too, but was not able to take care of us the way she knew her husband would want. So, with a broken heart, she gave us up.


She promised that someone would come along and rescue us so tha we could continue to be loved and cared for the way her husband use to. We sure hope that is true...


We grew up together, lost our owner together, and have gone to two shelters together. Sometimes when we are feeling really sad and scared, we'll curl up on the same dog bed and snuggle for a little while. It sure helps having a buddy to lean on during these hard times.


If we could stay together, we promise we will be nothing short of a blessing to our new family/owner. We are potty trained, friendly, know basic commands, and are so loving. My brother is a big guy, but is a total softie and i am so sweet and trusting! We really would make a family very happy.


We're just hoping someone is willing to open up their heart and home to us. We'd be so grateful to live out our golden years together...the way our dad would have wanted.

 

Hello, I am Lilly.  I am a 5-year-old female hound mix. I was originally found as a stray and am a sweet dog. I like people of all ages, including respectful children. I also appear to do with other friendly dogs and cats!   I am a medium size girl, so I won't take up much room other than in your heart.  Come meet me today!

Have questions about me? Contact Lakeshore PAWS at 219-476-PAWS (7297) or info@lakeshorePAWS.org. 
_______________________________________________________________________________

 

Hello, I am Winston.  I am a 1-year-old male Vizsla mix.  I am a very active guy and a very active breed. I will be happiest in an active home where I get lots of attention and get out for lots of walks, runs and play. I am also looking forward to undergoing training, so I fulfill my potential and grow into the great dog I know I am. I do well with all people but am too much dog for young and shy children, and those under the age of 10. I am also not a big fan of cats. Come meet me today and fall in love yourself. 
_______________________________________________________________________________

 

Hello, I'm Hope!  I am a very sweet 2-year-old female Bulldog mix.  I had been living on the streets, until some caring people finally caught up with me and rescued me.  Turns out I am just the sweetest girl.  I actually cry with affection when snuggling and yelp with excitement when playing.

I will be great with children 12 and older and prefer people to other dogs. I appear to be good with cats and will do best in an active home where I can get plenty of exercise, loving and training.  I just had a litter of puppies and am now looking fo ra forever home of my own. I weigh 56 pounds.
__________________________________________________________________


 


Hello, I am Desi. I am a very friendly 2-year-old male Dalmatian mix. I am a great all-around dog, who will fit in great with most homes. I appear to do well with other friendly dogs, but no cats please. I am fun and will do best in an active home. I am hearing impaired or possibly deaf, but that does not get me down an dis easily addressed with a little education on behalf of my new home. I am a medium-size dog.
_________________________________________________________


 

 I am a sweet, playful girl who is happy-go-lucky and full of life.  I love going to events and meeting new people. I especially low when those new people give me lots and lots of belly rubs!

I would do best in a home with children 15 years or older and will need to be the only fur baby in my new home. I know sit, down, and shake and am very treat motivated --which makes learning new tricks a lot more fun.


Note from Lakeshore Paws:
Carlotta is almost 2 years old and is a pitbull terrier mix. She came into our care, at Lakeshore Paws, heart-worm positive, and has since received all of her treatments to clear up the life-threatening disease. Visit this page to learn everything you need to know about treating heart-worm positive dogs



Contact Us

Lake Shore Ford

244 Melton Road
Directions Burns Harbor, IN 46304

  • Sales: (219) 787-8600
  • Service: (219) 787-8600
  • Parts: (219) 787-8600

Hours

  • Monday 8:30AM - 8:00PM
  • Tuesday 8:30AM - 8:00PM
  • Wednesday 8:30AM - 8:00PM
  • Thursday 8:30AM - 8:00PM
  • Friday 8:30AM - 6:00PM
  • Saturday 8:30AM - 5:00PM
  • Sunday Closed
; ;